A pocket full of pins and bluetack: Shindig! 22nd May at Jam Cafe, Hockley 7pm

So next Sunday sees the return of our bi-monthly Open Mic and Poetry night: Shindig! in the Jam Cafe, Hockley, which I (with my LeftLion poetry cape on!) run jointly with Nine Arches Press. (I don’t really wear a cape in case anyone is wondering, though perhaps I should!)
I’m looking forward to hearing our guest poets read  –  Rosie Garner (Salt Publishing), Di Slaney (Candlestick Press), Emma Purshouse (Nine Arches Press) and Jane Commane, joint Editor of Nine Arches Press, along with music and words from local legend John Marriott. In the absence of funding, our lovely poets give up their time in exchange for a couple of drinks from the bar, so I hope the audience will purchase a few books from the stall in return and perhaps get them signed by the authors (I’m a real geek like that and love getting my books signed!)
As always, the kitchen is open until 9pm and there is a range of alcohol, soft drinks and beverages available to purchase – also cake, a must at any poetry event!
For Open Mic, poets can sign up on the door. We aim to provide a friendly environment where people can get advice on their writing, chat to other writers and publishers or just enjoy a lovely evening of poetry, music and conversation, so I hope it will be a busy night!
Right, I’m off round town with some fliers and posters  – and a pocket full of pins and bluetack!
Shindig! Jam Cafe, Hockley 7pm Sunday May 22nd 2011 (Free Entry)
Comments Off on A pocket full of pins and bluetack: Shindig! 22nd May at Jam Cafe, Hockley 7pm

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.