Crystal Clear Pamphlet Launch and Readings

The last few months have been pretty busy, as my pamphlet Lost Lands went to print (February) and returned in book form (March) in time for the Crystal Pamphlets book launch at the Cultural Exchanges festival in Leicester. It was a brilliant night, with all six of the writers published by Crystal Clear Creators – Roy Marshall, Charles G Lauder Jr, Aly Stoneman, Jessica Mayhew, Hannah Stevens, Andrew “Mulletproof” Graves – reading at the event. We were introduced by our mentors (David Belbin, Maria Taylor, Mark Goodwin and Deborah Tyler-Bennett). It was great to finally meet the other five writers and hear them read their work. There was also some excellent Open Mic – with the lovely Jayne Stanton reading, along with several others.

Since then, I’ve taken part in a couple of other events – States of Independence and Shindig! – also both in Leicester. SOI was a brilliant event as always, and after the Crystal Clear reading I spent a happy afternoon browsing around the stalls and chatting. Shindig! (run by Nine Arches Press) was also a brilliant event, taking place in a ‘real’ pub(!) with a friendly atmosphere, a good audience turnout, and reasonably priced ale! I particularly enjoyed hearing Jonathan Davidson read as I have not heard him before – I especially liked his humorous poem about his wife attributing the genetic origins their children’s better personal qualities to herself and their worse personal traits to him!

I’m reading at several events in Nottingham, Lincoln and Herefordshire in the next few months, including our Nottingham launch party on Friday May 11th from 7pm-late at City Gallery.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Crystal Clear Pamphlet Launch and Readings

  1. jaynestanton

    Thanks for the mention, Aly! I’ve really enjoyed reading ‘Lost Lands,’ especially as, having heard you read several of the poems at the launch, I had your voice in my head.
    Hope to see you back at Shindig! in the near future.
    Hope your reading in Lincoln goes well (my native city). Is it as part of the book festival?

    • Hi Jayne, sorry it was a brief mention, bit of a belated blog! I’m so glad you enjoyed reading ‘Lost Lands’ and thank you for your kind words and support. Yes, I’m peforming at the Drill Hall in Lincoln for Lyric Lounge’s Lyrical Lunchtime on Saturday 28th April (12.30). I’ve not been to Lincoln for a while, really looking forward to it. When is the book festival on? I’m not sure if they are linked, but sounds interesting. Hope to see you at Word! or Shindig! soon. Best wishes, Aly x

      • jaynestanton

        Would be lovely to see you back at Word! That’s where I first heard your sea poems to Milk’s guitar backing 🙂
        Lincoln book festival is 9-13 May.