Readings at Festivals 2012

Bathing Beauties Festival 2013

Bathing Beauties Festival 2012 – Aly & Milk

I’m not very good at blogging about what I get up to but I wanted to mention three brilliant festivals I attended in 2012. I was mainly reading from my recently published pamphlet Lost Lands, along with my fellow Crystal Clear Creators ‘pamphleteers’ (editor Jonathan Taylor’s name for us!).

Southwell Poetry Festival took place at Southwell Library on Saturday 7th July. This was a cosy and well-attended session introduced by Jonathan Taylor, co-director of Crystal Clear Creators, with readings by Andrew “Mulletproof” Graves, Jessica Mayhew, Charles G Lauder Jr, Roy Marshall, and myself. The audience were very attentive… and even bought some pamphlets!

The Shell House Gallery, Ledbury

The Shell House Gallery, Ledbury

The following day (Sunday 8th July) found MulletProofPoet (Andy Graves) and I driving down to Ledbury Poetry Festival in Herefordshire. Ledbury is a gorgeous ye-olde-Englandy style town with a small enough centre to make running between venues in high heels bearable (although cobbled streets are a snag). Andy and I were reading in a stunning Georgian building, The Shell House Galley. There was moderate panic when 5-mins before our reading (at noon) the gallery was still locked, but we spotted the gallery manager (who’d overslept after a heavy night of Festival fun) running up the road towards us with the key and there followed the quickest and most efficient set-up I’ve ever seen. Andrew and I had a decent turn-out for our reading and time afterwards to catch readings by some fantastic poets including Simon Armitage. The volunteers at the event were really fantastic and friendly and I’d recommend this festival to all poetry lovers as the line-up is great year-on-year and the venues are lovely, it’s well worth the drive.

The Poetry Hut, Mablethorpe 2012

The Poetry Hut, Mablethorpe 2012

Milk and I left Nottingham for some seaside fun at the Bathing Beauties Festival 2012 in Mablethorpe on Saturday 15th & Sunday 16th September (thanks James Walker for driving!)We occupied a beach hut for the weekend at ‘the longest linear coastal art festival in Europe’, and had some interesting chats with passers by and local characters between readings. Luckily we had excellent weather as well and there was time for walks  on  the long and pristine beach. Town pubs offer ‘breakfast & a pint for £5’ with free WIFI …what’s not to like?!

Comments Off on Readings at Festivals 2012

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.