Buxton Poetry Competition 2015 Winner (and other good things)

P1010464-300x193I was surprised and thrilled to win the Buxton Poetry Competition with my poem ‘Windfalls’ on the theme of ‘Time’. David Wilson was second and Joe Caldwell was third. The judge this year was Helen Mort. I’m a big fan of Helen’s work (one of the reasons that I entered the competition) and so I was doubly excited that she chose my poem.

All the winning poems are available to read on the competition website. http://www.buxtonfestival.co.uk/outreach/poetry-competition/

I was also mentioned on the Poetry Society website (more excitement!): http://poetrysociety.org.uk/news/aly-stoneman-wins-buxton-poetry-competition/

I’ve had a good start to the year, after a bit of a hiatus over the last two years when I was writing (but not enough, and very slowly) and not really submitting any work. Crystal Clear Creators (who published my pamphlet ‘Lost Lands’ in 2012 and have been tremendously supportive of many East Midlands writers) celebrated their 10th Anniversary this year with an anthology of poems, which included my poem ‘Thalassa’ (Greek for ‘the sea’). I also have a humorous poem ‘Song of the White Van’ in The Coffee House in their last planned issue (edited by Deborah Tyler-Bennett). I’ve had my fair share of rejections, like most writers, but they serve to make the occasional success so much sweeter. Thanks to everyone who has supported and encouraged me.

11168155_10152915586590718_4494183305696237396_n

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Buxton Poetry Competition 2015 Winner (and other good things)

  1. Pingback: #MondayBlogs I know what our writers did this summer | Dawn of the Unread