Riddler-In-Residence at Exeter Cathedral

I am the new Riddler-In-Residence at Exeter Cathedral! The writing residency runs from August until November 2023. I will be creating some new work in response to the role’s environmental theme and the Cathedral’s heritage and green spaces, and working with service users at St Petrocks, a charity for people who are homeless or vulnerably housed. I will also be running various public workshops, following on from the poetry stand at BioBlitz in July, and taking part in the planned celebration event with the outgoing Riddler, James Wilkes, on Friday 6th October. I’m looking forward to a busy few months, and enjoying reconnecting with the city where I grew up. For information on events please see instagram: riddler_in_residence and the Cathedral’s website.

The ‘Riddler’ role takes its name from The Exeter Book, an anthology of Anglo-Saxon riddles and poetry made in circa 960-980AD, which is kept in Exeter Cathedral’s archives. I was fortunate enough to see this awe-inspiring book, listed by UNESCO as among the ‘world’s principle cultural artifacts’ during the public exhibition last week.